thanksgiving in Cancun

I know this post is a little late considering it is now January and I have already posted about Christmas and New Year’s. I never got around to posting about Thanksgiving and I still wanted to share.

My mom and step-dad Kevin took me, Dan, my brother Ryan, and my step-brother Sean on a vacation to Cancun, Mexico for the week of Thanksgiving. We went on Sunday, November 24th and came back home on Sunday, December 1st. There was a lot of relaxing, swimming, family fun, and wind. It was a great vacation. {Also, there are a ton of pictures so I’m just warning you now}

Dan and I woke up super early on Sunday to catch a bus to take us to the airport for our 7am flight. There was snow on the ground when we walked outside and I was thankful to be heading somewhere warm. We flew from Boston to Philedelphia, where we met up with my mom, Kevin and Ryan. At the Cancun airport, we got a few coronas for our ride to the resort. When we finally arrived at the resort, we were all starving. We had dinner at one of the restaurants and it was happy hour – buy 1 drink, get 2. We had tons of drinks on our table and the food was delicious. We wandered around the resort a little and all passed out early because we were exhausted.

Picture1

On Monday, I woke up so early. I think it was a combination of the time difference and from going to sleep so early. At least I got to see a beautiful sunrise.

A little later in the morning, Ryan, Dan, and I decided to go for a walk on the beach for a little exercise and to see what was around the resort. The water was a beautiful color but there were crazy waves the entire time we were there. We also explored the ruins that were right next to the resort.

Picture2Sean came Monday afternoon and we were so excited to see him! He lives in Florida so we don’t see him very much. Monday night we had a Mexican fiesta dinner at one of the restaurants complete with a Mariachi band. The food was amazing! After dinner, the boys wanted to explore a little and go swimming.

Picture3On Tuesday, we just relaxed at the resort. We laid on the beach, had some yummy drinks, and enjoyed. It rained for a bit and we all huddled under the canopies. We had a big pasta dinner in my mom’s room and played some games.

Picture4Wednesday we also hung out at the resort. We spent more time at the pool since it was easier to swim in than the ocean. We played some beach volleyball with some other people at the resort. {btw, I think it would be so fun to be on the “fun team” at a resort and be able to just hang out and play games all day}

Picture5Thursday was definitely our busiest day. We went to Chichen Itza, which are the biggest Mayan ruins. Dan has been wanting to visit Chichen Itza the past couple of times we went to Mexico but it just didn’t work out. So we made it happen this time. We took a 2 hour van ride to get there but it was definitely worth it. It is an amazing site to see. Everything about the site is huge and it baffles my mind how they got everything to line up perfectly so the sun will hit it in a certain way on a certain day of the year.

When we got back from Chichen Itza, we changed and headed across the street to get some dinner. We ended up having pasta for our Thanksgiving dinner, but it was delicious.

Picture6Friday we split up. Dan, Sean, and Kevin went to play golf. Ryan hung out. My mom and I hung out on the beach and got a massage in a cabana on the beach. It was so amazing.

Ryan, mom and I played some dominoes while we were waiting for the boys to get back. We ordered pizza for dinner and played some card games.

Picture7Saturday was our last full day at the resort so we decided to get some good seats by the pool and just spend the whole day hanging out. Dan and I got up early to take some pictures around the resort before a lot of people were roaming around. It really was a beautiful resort.

Picture9We started the day with a big breakfast in my mom and Kevin’s room. Then we headed down to the pool and relaxed. Dan, Ryan, Sean, and I went to play mini golf on the course at the resort. It was one of the best days we had the whole week.

Picture8Sunday was time to head back home. I wanted to enjoy the beach for a few more minutes so I went for a little walk before having to head to the airport. We all had different flight times but we all were heading to the airport together. When Dan and I finally made it back to Boston at 10ish, it was rainy and chilly.

Picture10I love spending time with my family because we always have a great time together and I’m so thankful to my mom and Kevin that they choose to bring us along on these vacations. I can’t wait until our next trip, wherever it may be.

p.s. This also fulfills my 30 by 30 take a vacation requirement!

Brittany

2 thoughts on “thanksgiving in Cancun

please feel free to leave a reply

