what i’m reading {mockingbird}

Mockingbird by Kathryn Erskine

mockingbird{description from Shelfari}

Caitlin is a ten year old girl who is diagnosed with Asperger’s syndrome. She has no friends and can’t figure out emotions and why people act the way they do. Her mother died when she was younger and she has no female role model. But at least she has her older brother, Devon. When she doesn’t understand something, he can always explain it to her. Things are okay because she has Devon, until he is shot in a traumatic school shooting at the local middle school. Now, she has nothing except her traumatized dad and the school guidance counselor. She doesn’t like the counselor because she doesn’t get kids with Autism at all. So now when Caitlin is wanting an answer, she goes to the dictionary. After seeing its’ definition in the dictionary, Caitlin decides she needs to find “closure” for her and her father. In this touching novel, Caitlin goes on a search to find friends, explanations, and, ultimately, closure.

{my thoughts}

I loved this book. I was looking for a book to read at the school library where I work. I was actually searching for a different book by this author and it wasn’t there but this one was so I decided to give it a shot. I hadn’t even heard of it but I’m so glad I picked it up. The main character has Aspergers and the story from her point of view is so interesting. It is hard to imagine what it would be like in the head of someone who is autistic or who has Aspergers but this seems pretty accurate. The relationships and the connections in this book are amazing. This book really touched me and made me think and I read through it pretty quick. I’m so happy that it ended the way it did because her search from closure gave closure to the book.

I would highly recommend this book to students and adults. I think it gives a great perspective about how we are all alike in some ways.

follow me on Shelfari {here}

 

please feel free to leave a reply

