what i’m reading {second chance summer}

Seriously guys…what is going on? I have been slacking so bad. School started at the very end of August and for some reason, things have just felt crazy. I’ve been getting back into the schedule of school but I have also had other stuff going on. I need to make this a priority again so I don’t go so long without posting.

Anyway, back to the real reason for this post:

I love reading. I read pretty much every night before I go to bed and at other times when I have a little extra time in my schedule. I used to post about the books I was reading and I thought I would get back into that. I tend to read a lot of young adult literature what with me working in a middle school and everything but I think that is ok. The books keep me interested and that is all that matters.

I thought I would post about the book I just finished.

Second Chance Summer by Morgan Matson

second chance summer

{description from Shelfari}

Taylor’s family might not be the closest-knit – everyone is a little too busy and over-scheduled – but for the most part, they get along fine. Then they get news that changes everything: Her father has pancreatic cancer, and it’s stage four – meaning that there is basically nothing to be done. Her parents decide that the family will spend his last months together at their old summer house in the Pocono Mountains. Crammed into a place much smaller and more rustic than they are used to, they begin to get to know each other again. And Taylor discovers that the people she thought she had left behind haven’t actually gone anywhere. Her former summer best friend is suddenly around, as is her first boyfriend. . . and he’s much cuter at seventeen than he was at twelve. As the summer progresses, the Edwards become more of a family, and closer than they’ve ever been before. But all of them very aware that they’re battling a ticking clock. Sometimes, though, there is just enough time to get a second chance – with family, with friends, and with love.

{my thoughts}

I absolutely loved this book. I got right into the story at the beginning and never wanted to stop reading. The story felt so real and I was completely hooked into all the different story lines. I felt like I was a part of the story. When the end of the story came around, even though I knew what was coming, it hit me hard and I got all teary and choked up. That doesn’t happen to me a lot when I’m reading so that is how I know how well I related to this book. I would recommend this book to everyone and be prepared with a few tissues.

I definitely want to read Morgan Matson’s first novel. I love her writing.

Have any of you read any good books lately? I’m always looking for suggestions!

Also, if you guys want to see what else I’m reading, I keep track of all my books on Shelfari. You can check it out here.

2 thoughts on “what i’m reading {second chance summer}

  1. I used to read HEAPS when I was at home, but can’t seem to get the chance anymore. BUT I think if I did get hooked on a book again, I’d find myself making time ;).

    One author I really liked was Beverley Lewis. I couldn’t get enough of her books. Her characters were all Amish from Pennsylvania etc. It was so interesting getting a look into Amish life while being caught up in a good love story.

    • Thanks for the suggestion Hannah! I’ll have to check it out! 🙂 And I hope you can find some time to read again soon! Not that you have anything else going on to keep you busy….like a super cute baby…. 😉

please feel free to leave a reply

