going in a new direction?

I have always wanted to be a teacher ever since I can remember. It was all I ever wanted to do. So you can imagine how disappointing it is to apply for teaching jobs for 5 or 6 years in a row and never get a job.

Recently I have been thinking about other jobs I could do if/when I decide to give up on teaching. It is hard. Anything I have ever done is for teaching – bachelor’s degree, master’s degree, internships, professional development. I don’t want to work retail for the rest of my life. There isn’t much I would want to do that would make me happy.

I am still working on an Etsy shop and plan on opening one this summer. However, it is hard to make a craft shop like that into a full time job. So I came up with something else that could work.

A vintage rental business.

I love weddings but I’m not sure I could get into the event planning business. Vintage rentals would still allow me to be in the wedding world without more classes and degrees. I love the way weddings look with a mixture of chairs and really neat, vintage items. There are so many amazing pieces out there that I think would be loved by a lot of people. Chairs, plates, windows, shutters, doors, bathtubs, trunks, suitcases, dressers, frames, and a million other things. And there isn’t anything like this in my area. I could rent to people for weddings, parties, photo shoots, staging houses, and whatever else people wanted.

My question is or I guess questions are: would this work? Do you think people would like something like this? Would people in the Portsmouth, NH area be interested in using a business like this?

I have talked about this with Dan and my mom and my brother and I feel myself getting excited just talking about it. That tells me that this is something I could be really happy doing.

So if you live in the Portsmouth, NH area or just New Hampshire or surrounding states, is this something you would be interested in?

What do you guys think?

4 thoughts on “going in a new direction?

  1. Hannah says:

    Looove the idea!! I would have loved to hire some old doors or something… or picture frames instead of having to search and search for one that’s ‘just right’ and sometimes they can be pretty expensive! But you could by ones that were expensive because you’d know you could make money back on it. I don’t know about your area, but vintage weddings are REALLY popular everywhere it seems, so I think you could definitely make some money out of it! You’d need access to a pretty big shed or something though, to store it all in.

    • Thanks Hannah! The storage thing is definitely something I’ve thought of and the major thing that would be a problem right now. But I would start small and see what happens and then look into getting a place if it is going well. Thanks for your thoughts!

  2. Jess Scarlett says:

    Love this idea!! I could see people using your rentals for showers and parties in addition to weddings… I know I would! And being in the Portsmouth area is really the perfect location as far as NH goes. Very cool!

please feel free to leave a reply

